The monitoring framework

Our monitoring is conducted under seven domains, six of which are defined by the Association for the Prevention of Torture*. The seventh domain, ‘Improving Outcomes for Mokopuna Māori’ was developed for the Aotearoa New Zealand context by OCC to assess how mokopuna Māori are supported to have a positive connection to their identity and whakapapa.

How OPCAT is reflected in the way we monitor

The domains are:

  • Treatment
  • Protection Systems
  • Material Conditions
  • Activities and access to others
  • Medical services and care
  • Personnel
  • Improving outcomes for mokopuna Māori

Using the seven domains as a framework we:

  • Rigorously examine the treatment and conditions using a range of methods and information sources
  • Describe these treatment and conditions in terms of their impact on mokopuna
  • Clearly identify anything that constitutes torture or other cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment
  • Clearly identify any problems to be addressed and improvements required, along with our expectations for action
  • Make recommendations aimed at improving treatment and conditions and preventing future ill-treatment

*Our monitoring methodology is informed by, but not limited to, the Association for the Prevention of Torture’s publication Monitoring places of detention: A practical guide (2004), the United Nations Rules for the Protection of Juveniles Deprived of their Liberty (the Havana Rules) and domestic legislation and regulations.